Latex Glove Restrictions


States restricting use of latex gloves

Despite several states proposing legislation to ban the use of latex gloves in foodservice establishments, only three states (Arizona, Oregon, and Rhode Island) have active restrictions.


The US Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requires that, when exposure to bloodborne pathogens (such as hepatitis B and HIV) exists, employers must provide and make readily accessible hypoallergenic gloves, glove liners, powderless gloves, or other similar alternatives to those employees allergic, where latex gloves are normally provided.

See Also